Martha Mondays – Maple Granola

This week’s Martha Mondays project was chosen by Maryann of Stiring It Up with Meg and was the granola from Martha’s ‘From My Home to Yours’ column.  The February issue won’t be out in the UK for a few weeks so Brette kindly sent me the recipe (thanks Brette). 

The ingredients were easy to find, and as I knew that I would never be able to find unsweetened coconut chips without a trip to Whole Foods I used dessicated coconut instead.  I made this and read the recipe as I went.  I was shocked.  1/2 cup of sugar, olive oil and syrup!  Wow!  I assume that somewhere in the article Martha tells us to eat the granola only as a special treat. 

My diet has been off this weekend while I have scoffed this with either cream or on its own whilst watching a marathon amount of FA Cup football this weekend.

Anyway, the recipe was easy to follow and the granola is lovely.  I can taste the olive oil and I like that it is slightly salty.  I am thinking of making this for friends for Christmas 2010 but in the meantime I will have to tie my hands behind my back and get back to eating the Special K like a good girl!

Thanks for a great project Maryann.

6 thoughts on “Martha Mondays – Maple Granola

  1. Looks great! I don’t think any of us found unsweetened coconut chips! To avoid eating it all myself, I sent a bunch to work with hubby this morning to put in the lunchroom ;o) Looking forward to the next Martha Monday!

  2. It’s a lot of fun to make granola. It’s interesting that you mentioned that it was slightly “salty.” My husband noticed that right away, too. I really loved the maple syrup in this recipe. It smelled so good when it was baking. Thanks for joining along!

  3. I do think this was the first Martha Mondays project where we have all had good results. Maybe we should stick to cereal from now on, although I did try it with milk and decided that it is better on its own or with cream. And typing this has just made me hungry!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

