Birthday Celebrations

I celebrated my 27th birthday on Saturday.  In the past I haven’t really enjoyed my birthday – always an anti-climax.  But this year it was lovely.  I had a quiet morning with a trip into town for coffee, some shopping and I got the February issue of Martha (a present in itself).

I then had the luxury of time and showered, did makeup with care and attention and I did my hair and then mum, dad and I went into London.  (It’s about an hour by bus into the middle of London).  Dad was seeing a concert at the Hammersmith Apollo that night and so we went early to get a photo of him outside and then made our way to Knightsbridge to the Chicago Rib Shack for an early dinner.  I have been wanting to try this place for ages, it sits on the wrong side of Knightsbridge so doesn’t get many tourists on their way to Harrods (a bonus) and it always looks lively. 

– Mum and Dad with their aprons on –

The food was good.  I had pulled pork which I have only ever since advertised here and it was very tasty and I enjoyed it.  Mum and dad had the ribs.

 After a drink at the bar watching England in the Six Nations Rugby, mum and I split from dad. 

Mum and I had the evening already planned.  We popped into Harvey Nichols and straight up to the fifth floor food hall.  In the book section I was very lucky and managed to get my hands on a copy of Mad Hungry by Lucinda Scala Quinn (a book which I have been searching for for a while).  Then onto cocktails at the Intercontinental at Hyde Park Corner.  Last year I booked mum and dad a spa day at the hotel and mum and I had been meaning to pop in for a drink.  Ooooh! they were good.  I had a cocktail with apple liquor, vodka, apple juice and basil crushed into it and mum had a gin based cocktail with rosemary crushed into it.  They were absolutely wonderul.

 

 – (r-l) my cocktail and mum’s cocktail –

Then onto the cinema to see Invictus.  The film had been getting good reviews over here and I had looked forward to seeing the film.  It didn’t disappoint.  It was great.  Sad in places but powerful and positive.

And that was my 27th birthday.  It really was lovely and for the reason that we all got to do what we wanted.  Dad had his concert and mum and I had cocktails.  But we managed to spend five hours as a family celebrating my birthday and that was very special to me.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Celebrations

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

