Martha Mondays – Maple-Bacon Quiche

It was my pick for this week’s Martha Mondays, and I chose a recipe that I had planned to cook last Easter but never did – I think we did decorating and then I didn’t have time.

I didn’t make Martha’s pate brisee as I always use Michel Roux’s recipe and I made the pastry on Saturday for use on Sunday. 

The quiche was fairly easy to make, I don’t understand baking the quiche with baking beeds and then taking them out and then re-cooking as my quiche ended up being quite raised – did anyone else have the same problem? 

Anyway, you cook the bacon and then put this to one side.  Add oil and cook the onion and deglaze the pan with water and maple syrup.  Then you add the onion mixture to eggs, cream and thyme and place this in the quiche case.  Then top with some bacon, cook, then add the rest of the bacon. 

The verdict as a 10 out of 10 from my mum and 9.5 out of 10 from my dad (he would have preferred it hotter!)  I really liked it.  It was pretty sweet though, but I will certainly be making it again.  I hope everyone else enjoyed it too.

5 thoughts on “Martha Mondays – Maple-Bacon Quiche

  1. Your looks beautiful Pru!

    I didn’t make Martha’s pate brisee either I thought it was too much butter for one bottom pie crust. I didn’t use as much syrup as it called for (just my preference of not liking things sweet). We liked it! I like the bacon on the top that stayed crisp!

  2. Even though mine didn’t turn out – at all – I highly recommend you try Martha’s Pate Brisee as it’s super easy and really really good 🙂 I’m glad you guys enjoyed it and adore your pretty napkins 🙂

  3. I idnt make this as I am counting points right now but I it’s on the “must try” list. I just have to have an occassion to share with someone besides my small family. Yours looks wonderful and it sounds so good!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

