Daring Bakers – Orange Tian

I have joined the Daring Bakers and I am thrilled it is a group that I have long admired, and it will give me a new challenge and another reason to perfect my baking skills each month.

The 2010 March Daring Barker’s challenge was hosted by Jennifer at Chocolate Shavings.  She chose Orange Tian as the challenge for this month, a dessert based on a recipe from Alain Ducasse’s Cooking School in Paris.

It was a little daunting when I first read the name of the challenge and then saw the recipes.  There was a marmalade, stabilised cream, patee sable and caramel (not to mention the segmented oranges).  In fact though, once I got started it was fine.  This recipe was not a quick challenge with the oranges and marmalade made the day before. 

This recipe was a first for me in everything.  I had never made marmalade, nor pate sablee (I used the Michel Roux recipe for this), the caramel was a different recipe (with orange juice added to it) and in fact I had never segmented an orange before!  But it was fun. 

The beginning of Pate Sablee – this made a beautiful pastry of which I have lots left to use for another recipe.

The tian is made upside down, when you turn it out, the oranges are at the top. 

So, first went in the oranges…

…then the stabilised cream which had gelatine and a tablespoon of the marmalade added to it…

 …and then finally the cooked dough which was spread (on the side touching the cream with marmalade)

And this is the result with the caramel sauce.

We all loved it, and ate it before our dinner.  Now I can’t wait for next month’s challenge!

 

6 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Orange Tian

  1. Pru, I am so impressed! Wow, the daring bakers. It has always been so intimidating to me (of course I’m not a baker). I really need to work on overcoming that.

    I love your photos! Kim, I didn’t even notice that you wrote “junks’ I guess I read chunks the first time too! lol!

    This turned out beautiful!

    Thank you so much for the chocolate. I recieved it on Friday, and did mention it on my blog right then! I already ate the wisp bar. Some were getting a little soft (our weather is warming back up nicely) but they are fine now. I loved the wisp, and can’t wait to try the rest. I am getting some things from Florida together for you (it would help if I knew somes thing you would want). I will let you know when I try the rest.

    You are the best!

  2. Pingback: Muffin Pan Potato Gratin | Perfecting Pru

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

