Daring Bakers – Steamed Summer Pudding

The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet.

This is only the second month of me doing the Daring Bakers Challenge and I was dissapointed with the task this month.  Suet. Yuck.  I use dried suet when we make Christmas Puddings, but as the weather is warm in England a steamed pudding of any kind just wasn’t what I fancied making and apart from the Christmas Pudding I have never eaten a steamed pudding before.  I found finding a recipe quite hard too, but settled for Steamed Summer Pudding by Richard Doyle who appeared on the BBC programme ‘Masterchef’. 

It was easy to make, and I used frozen berries from the supermarket.  I wish that I had added more sugar than the recipe had started as the berries were quite tart.  The pastry was also easy to make and I cut out the sections to fit into the bowl.  But when it had been steamed it just didn’t look attractive – you could still see the imprints of the suet. 

 

Mum ate hers, dad wouldn’t try it and I picked at the fruit.  Not one that I will be trying again.  I think I will stick to Christmas Pudding making instead. 

I have checked on the Daring Bakers site, and other people made beautiful looking puddings.  I may have to give another pudding a go as I feel that I may have failed this task by not trying hard enough. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Steamed Summer Pudding

  1. I give you credit for even doing the challange!!! I saw the word suet and ran away from the challange, so kuddos to you. The pudding looks like it was good and a perfect choice. I love that you picked a berry one!

  2. Good job on the attempt! Don’t forget that you can change ingredients to fit your nutritional needs (or wants!) You can also use vegetable suet, crisco, or butter! This makes a great, moist, tender cake with bright flavors. Give it another shot and you won’t be dissapointed! 🙂

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

