Martha Mondays – Lemon Poppyseed Cookies

Lemon Poppyseed Cookies were the choice of Hannah from City Interlude for this week’s challenge.  They sounded good until I saw the recipe (thanks Brette for emailing it to me).  I do find alot of the desserts too sweet that Martha produces, and with this having the same quantity of flour to sugar I was skeptical and the lack of lemon also had me querying the recipe.  However, they were easy to make and I had all the ingredients (including poppy seeds!) so I was happy as our household has been exceptionally busy all weekend.  

I couldn’t get 26 out of mine, I only managed 13, which I assume means that I made mine far too big, but they looked like cookie size when they came out of the oven so who knows.

The verdict, well we didn’t like them.  They didn’t taste much of lemon, and if I did make these again I would substitute the vanilla for lemon extract, or maybe make some lemon icing.  I don’t know.  Also, they had a bit of an after taste – but that may just be me. 

 

5 thoughts on “Martha Mondays – Lemon Poppyseed Cookies

  1. They look like normal cookie size. I can’t believe the recipe only made that many. I was just checking to see what ingredients that I’ll need to make them. I already have lemons and lemon extract (lol). Maybe I’ll take you advise on that, and we don’t like things as sweet either. I love the last photo!

  2. You’re right – lemon extract would really help – or maybe some lemon juice. It only had zest in it. I don’t know how you got yours to come out looking so nice! Mine are clumps of crumbs that do not hold together at all!

  3. The recipe didn’t make very many cookies and I didn’t care for them either. Surprisingly, Hubby did. What was Martha thinking??? LOL
    Yours look like a tasty morsel, great pictures!

  4. Yup, I agree with you, these cookies did have a bit of an aftertaste. An aftertaste that lingered. Anyway, the fact that none of us liked them means that we are all women of good taste!!! You know what though? That picture you have of the cup of tea with lemon makes yearn to go drink some tea right now.

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

