Martha Mondays – Chocolate Pudding

“Chocolate pudding! Wow!” I thought when I saw the name of this week’s project picked by Sarah at Mum In Bloom.  What could be better than eggs and milk, good chocolate and a great chocolate pudding at the end of it?  Then I clicked on the link.  No to the eggs and milk and no to the good chocolate.  Instead I bought avocados and dates. 

Now I love avocados, so much so that I have to limit myself to only a couple a season otherwise I get hooked and everything I eat involves a slice of avocado.  I’m not that keen on dates but I was keen to give this a try.  It is very easy. 

 

You whizz up 8 dates, an avocado, 4 tbs cocoa powder, 1/2tsp vanilla and half a cup of water until it is creamy and then you serve it. 

 

For mum and I it was too strong in the cocoa department and we could both still taste the avocado.  I’m not sure that anything could have helped it.  But I do wonder if I would have liked it more had I not known what was in it.

On the plus side, I will be looking at the Whole Living site more for recipes which I continue to neglect when I go on the Martha site, but this pudding wasn’t for us.

5 thoughts on “Martha Mondays – Chocolate Pudding

  1. I am also crazy about avocados. I just love them. But I didn’t love them in this! I agree that if I didn’t know what was in this I might have liked it more, but I suspect it would have tasted funny to me even so.

    Now I will have to make REAL chocolate pudding

  2. Your pudding looks great. I’d think it would be grainy or mushy, but it looks nice and silky. I can’t imagine a pudding without using milk. I love dairy!

  3. It really does look great but I’d rather eat the avocado in some guacamole and then have real pudding for dessert. You were really courageous to even give this a go. I couldn’t bring myself to do it.

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

