Martha Mondays – Zucchini Lasagna

Lyndsey chose Zucchini Lasagna from Everyday Food for this week’s Martha Mondays. 

 I was so pleased that this was easy to make (and also an excuse to buy a new pie dish) however I had my doubts as mum and dad are both not keen on courgette (zucchini) but I decided not to care and cooked it anyway.

 I did add onion to the courgette and I also sliced mine very thinly on the mandolin instead of how they suggested.  The onion was also sliced very thinly.

 

Prior to baking (the first time)

I cooked it in a very hot oven (as I had been baking already in the afternoon) and after the alloted time was up I served it.  It promptly went back in the oven as the pasta hadn’t cooked.  I ended up cooking it for another 20 minutes and added parmesan cheese and cheddar cheese to the top to give it some more flavour. 

 

 The second time of baking

Now I am keen to find out what ‘no-boil lasagna noodles’ are.  Is this fresh pasta, or is this the regular sheets that can stay in the cupboard for quite a long time?  I used the regular sheets as this is what we have always used and have never had to pre-boil them.  Maybe this is where it went wrong.

 

The cheddar and parmesan definitely gave it a flavour boost!

The verdict – yeah, it was okay.  I would be keen to make it again but not as a main course, maybe a small portion with chicken or something or maybe adding some cooked bacon to the zucchini.  Also, I think it needed some more taste, I might add chilli flakes next time. 

Thanks for a good pick Lyndsey, I think for us though it just needs a bit of modifying.  I can’t wait to see what everyone else thought. 

3 thoughts on “Martha Mondays – Zucchini Lasagna

  1. Mine is in the oven as I’m writing this. I almost use a mandolin to slice my zucchini, but I did slice mine thin too. I added some eggplant that I had to use before it went bad. I also upped the seasoning adding more garlic and red pepper flakes and Herbs de Provence, and used mozzarella in it as well as on the top. I almost used some Parmesan as well! So we’ll see.

    I already had the no boil lasagna noodles, so it was nice to use those up. It was a box of Barilla brand Lazagne – rolled flat. I don’t know what makes them no boil, but they sure feel different out of the box from the regular noodles. I don’t make lasagna too often because it makes so much. My daughter’s not that big on red sauce!

    I love your new dish, it’s beautiful. For a family my size we use this size often.

  2. Maybe you don’t have regular versus no boil noodles there? Here the regular ones tend to have curly, crinkly sides and are just called lasagna noodles. The no boil ones are thinner and completely flat and also wider and are labeled “no-boil”.

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

