Daring Bakers – Ice Cream Petit Fours

The month seems to go by so quickly from the 1st of the month when the challenge is posted until the 27th when we get to post our results.  This was another challenge that took two days, and had the air a light tint of blue for the last part of the task.  Here goes:

The August 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Elissa of 17 and Baking.  For the first time, The Daring Bakers partnered with Sugar High Fridays for a co-event and Elissa was the gracious hostess of both.  Using the same theme of beurre noisette, or browned butter, Elissa chose to challenge the Daring Bakers to make a pound cake to be used in either a Baked Alaska or in Ice Cream Petit Fours.  The sources for Elissa’s challenge were Gourmet magazine and David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop”.

When I first saw that I had to make ice cream for the second month in a row I wasn’t too pleased.  But this recipe was different to the last one (which was whipping cream and sugar) as this month’s recipe had the addition of eggs which makes this my favourite ice cream recipe as the ice cream was creamier and generally more like ice cream. 

The pound cake was easy to make, and the taste of browned butter was glorious in the cake batter.  I have read that some other Daring Bakers loved the cake on its own and I will be making this recipe again soon. 

I was surprised that it was easy to slice the cake into two (despite it only being about an inch in height) and laying the ice cream on top was pretty straightforward too.  The second slice of sponge was then placed on top and put back into the freezer. 

My assembly line took shape and with the melted chocolate I set to work on dipping these cakes (which had been sliced into 1 inch cubes) into the chocolate.  At this stage my temperature rised, the chocolate sauce although at room temperature started to melt the ice cream.  I decided to make the chocolate sauce a little runnier as it was taking time to drizzle over the cakes and so put it back on the stove and added some milk.  The cakes went back into the freezer and the chocolate cooled once more.   I tried again.  It was a sorry sight with both mum and I (I recruited her against her will) dipping the cakes into the chocolate and placing them on a baking sheet.  It wasn’t even a hot day!

But in the end, after dipping them twice into chocolate they were ready to photograph and eat.

 We found that for all the effort they were ‘okay’.  I couldn’t taste the browned butter or the vanilla bean which I had added to the ice cream.  The chocolate was too overpowering.  And my plan to take them into work was thwarted as they thought of the ice cream running everywhere was too much of a risk.  So we devoured most of them at home.  If they stayed in the freezer until 30 seconds before they were to be eaten then they were fine – but extremely cold!

5 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Ice Cream Petit Fours

  1. My assembly line was quite a mess too – and I had quite a few I had to eat at home since they weren’t presentable. I tried double dipping one of mine to fix it but the chocolate ended up way too thick. Too bad the vanilla didn’t come through – I know how expensive it is. They look great.

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

