The Singer Family Summer Holiday

After last year’s disaster of a holiday, mum and I had sworn never to do a trip the three of us again.  We vowed never to let ourselves be swept up in the idea of really needing a holiday and going away the three of us, because we knew that we would probably ending up murdering dad (I had visions of throwing his body in the lake before we even went!).  We usually get on very well when we are at home namely because we are all getting on with our own stuff.  But put the three of us in a car for hours and hours and it spells disaster. 

So when mum’s birthday came up and I decided to book her a horse riding trek on the Cumbrian beach it was no surprise that mum cried when she opened her present.  But I like to think that she was just pleased to be fulfilling a wish on her ‘bucket list’. 

Anyway, the three of us packed our bags and made the six hour trip to Cumbria and to visit, for the first time, the Lake District.  As soon as we pulled off the motorway we all wondered why we had never visited before.  The Lake District is beautiful, stunning and I am smiling as I type this remembering all of the beautiful lakes and hills. 

Despite rain on our first afternoon we ventured out for the lake cruise and are so pleased that we went for it was beautiful rain or not.  The rest of the time was taken up visiting various lakes (Ennerdale, Windermere, Grasmere and Derment) and visiting some of the local towns of Keswick, Ambleside, Windermere, Kendal and Grasmere.

Castlerigg Stone Circle (3000BC) near Keswick 

Ennerdale Water (my favourite)

Bridge House in Ambleside (it is believed a family with six children once lived there!) 

It was a wonderful holiday which we all enjoyed so very much.  Who knows, maybe we will look into doing another Singer holiday at some stage!  And if you ever happen to be visiting the area, I would be happy to give you my suggestions of where to visit and places to eat.

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Singer Family Summer Holiday

  1. I loved the Lake District and wish they had digital cameras at the time I was there. I loved every moment of it. I bought the best gingerbread there and have been looking for a recipe similar to it so I can make it myself. It was wonderful with little bits of candied ginger in it, I guess they are pretty well known for it!

    Your photos are stunning it makes me miss it! Thanks for sharing your vacation!

  2. Lovely photos Pru! I’m glad you had a good time. We didn’t have time to visit the Lake District on our UK trip last year. Hopefully we’ll be able to come again and have time to see that part of the country.

    I had to laugh at your description of wanting to throw your dad into the lake. We spend a lot of weekends with my parents at their lake house and let me tell you, I have the same fantasy!

  3. I visited the lake district many years ago, when I was just out of college, and I found it incredibly beautiful. Painfully beautiful, really. I just had to see the places that inspired Wordsworth. Unforgetable. So sweet to give that lovely present to your mother!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

