Daring Bakers – Decorated Sugar Cookies

Wow! Another month has passed.  Autumn is really here, and I feel like making another batch of cookies so that I can drink them with a pot of tea to keep warm.

The September 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Mandy of “What the Fruitcake?!” Mandy challenged everyone to make Decorated Sugar Cookies based on recipes from Peggy Porschen and The Joy of Baking.

I have decided to look at this challenge  as ‘perfecting makes perfect’.  I need a lot more time to perfect my icing skills!

This was my first time using Royal Icing but I was pleased with how easy it was to make and use (my creative side needs work).   You could make the cookies to any theme as long as it meant ‘September’ to you in some way.  I racked my brain.   Nothing.  Then I went and bought the September issue of Vogue (the only time of the year when I buy the US version of the magazine) and as the ‘September Issue’ film is one of my favourites I decided to use clothes as my theme.  My local bakery shop only had a t-shirt cutter so I went with that.  Here are my creations:

The orange one is the same as a kaftan I have with silver sequins at the bottom and on the arms.

So, there you go.  A lot more icing practice needs to happen before I attempt Halloween or Christmas cookies.

8 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Decorated Sugar Cookies

  1. Oh my gosh they are so cute! I can’t wait to see the Halloween ones! Great job Pru!

    Sorry you are having difficulty posting a comment to my blog. I took out having to verify the word to make it a little easier.

  2. Gorgeous! Welcome to Daring Bakers! I had no idea you were one too but I saw your profile on the website this morning and was so excited that it was someone I know. Well, sort of know. Anyway, you did a great job with these cookies. I didn’t participate this month. Just overloaded with the beginning of school for the kids, etc. But I’m very excited to find out this month’s challenge. Cheers! Sara.

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

