Daring Bakers – Doughnuts

The October 2010 Daring Bakers challenge was hosted by Lori of Butter Me Up. Lori chose to challenge us Daring Bakers to make doughnuts. She used several sources for her recipes including Alton Brown, Nancy Silverton, Kate Neumann and Epicurious.

As soon as I saw the challenge I knew what I wanted to do – doughnuts with spiced apple in the middle.   Brioche Donuts with Apple Compote from Richard Corrigan a famous chef in the UK were ideal and the recipe can be found here

These were easy to make, but if you make them, don’t be fooled by the ‘serves 8-10’ bit, as I made 25 and then gave up!  Never have I wanted to shower so much after cooking!

Athough I made them into small-ish balls and had 18, I ended up cutting them in half and in a couple of cases thirds, as cooking them all the way through proved to be a bit hard, and I had to cook them in the oil at about 150c instead of 195c. 

After frying the doughnuts were coated in a sugar and cinnamon mixture.  Apples from the allotment made a lovely compote with a small amount of sugar and butter.  I bought a new nozzle and pumped the compote into the dougnuts with ease. 

These are gorgeous.  I had trouble not eating them all!

6 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Doughnuts

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

