Daring Bakers – Crostata

Have you ever heard of a ‘Crostata’?  I think I may have done, but then my mind has been known to play lots of tricks on me!  A Crostata is an Italian pastry and this was the Daring Bakers pick Simona of briciole. She chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ to make pasta frolla for a crostata. She used her own experience as a source, as well as information from Pellegrino Artusi’s Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well.

The joy of this month’s challenge was that you could pick one of two ways to make the Crostata and then choose any type of filling that you wanted.  I urge you to check out the Daring Bakers website to see all the different creations. 

This past month I have had an urging to use mincemeat and almonds and I could swear blind that I saw a recipe for a mincemeat and almond tart but I cannot find the recipe anyway.

Mary Berry’s Mincemeat Frangipane Tart though was pretty spot on and that is the recipe I followed.

This turned out beautifully.  The pastry was delicious and so was the filling.  I didn’t used flaked almonds on the top as I don’t like them but it didn’t matter.  The tart was eaten by the three of us within three days – it was wonderful and I will no doubt make another one before Christmas.

5 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Crostata

  1. That looks beautiful! I just had a mini mincemeat pie today for the first time and it didn’t look anything like yours. Your photo almost looks like lemon to me. Nice job on the challenge!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

