Chocolate Cups And My Recipe for Tiramisu

Brette so kindly sent me the recipe for Chocolate cups chosen by Sara for this week’s Martha Monday’s project. I loved the idea of being able to fill the chocolate cup with anything I wanted and I quickly decided to make tiramisu.

 

When I was in my early teens I used to stay at a friend of mine’s house – Valentina – nearly every Saturday night and usually we had homemade tiramisu for pudding.  Oh, it was delicious.  Her parents went on to open two local delicatessens and restaurants and if the mood hits I can go and buy a slice of tiramisu but I really wanted to make my own version. 

 

The chocolate cups are easy to make and I decided to test out my new silicon cupcake cases which may have made this easier than using the paper kind. 

For the tiramisu I couldn’t find a recipe that I was happy with.  Some had eggs in but I didn’t want to muck around with them and some didn’t have any alcohol in, but as someone in the comments section on a website had said ‘why bother if there is no taste of alcohol’.  I agree.  Tiramisu in our house needs a good glug of masala and is easier to make than I thought.  Mine went like this:

1 packet of ladyfingers (my pack had 20 and I used 18 of them)

500g mascarpone

1/2cup double(heavy) cream

1/4 cup sugar

1tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup espresso, cold

1/2 cup (and a tiny bit more) of Masala

Whip the mascarpone and cream together, add the sugar and vanilla and whip until fluffy. 

Combine the coffee and masala together.  Place the ladyfinger biscuits one at a time in to the coffee mixture.  Let the biscuits sit in the mixture until they have absorbed some of the liquid but are not soggy (about 10 seconds or so – but to be honest I wasn’t counting).

Place the biscuits into your dish leaving no gaps.  Place half the mascarpone mixture on top and spread so that it is an even layer.  Dust with cocoa powder.  Repeat with another layer of biscuits and the final layer of mascarpone mixture.  Dust with icing sugar and refrigerate for about an hour.

When you come to serve it, take it out of the fridge 30 minutes before hand so that it is not too cold. 

Thanks Sara for a wonderful task. I’m already thinking about what I can fill the chocolate cups with next time – I’m thinking black forest gateaux!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Cups And My Recipe for Tiramisu

  1. I’m glad you liked it. Yours turned out so well too! I like the idea of serving tiramisu in them. I had thought of doing chocolate mousse in mine but my son dislikes chocolate so I had to do something non-chocolate for the filling 😦

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

