Daring Bakers Yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake

A drizzle of orange flavoured icing was all that was needed to tell friends that that was the apple brioche.

 

I was so excited by this month’s challenge – a brioche cake rolled with whipped meringue and a filling (pecans, cinnamon and sultanas and apples, sultanas and orange zest in my case).  Whenever I go to a bakery and they have brioche no one needs to ask what I want.  It’s a given that I will eat brioche.  I could eat it all day long!

 

The March 2011 Daring Baker’s Challenge was hoted by Ria of Ria’s Collection and Jamie of Life’s a Feast.  Ria and Jamie challeneged us Daring Bakers to bake a yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake.

 

Although there were three elements to be made (dough, meringue and filling) they were simple to make and didn’t take too long either – about three hours in total including baking.

 

 

 

Pecan, Sultana and Cinnamon Brioche

I mixed one cup of chopped pecans with a cup of sultanas, a teaspoon of cinnamon and two tablespoons of soft brown sugar.  I used this whole mixture on one of the brioche.  I was pleased that I used double the quantity suggested.

 

Apple, Sultana and Orange Zest Brioche

Two cooking apples were peeled and thinly sliced before adding a cup of sultanas and the zest of an orange with two tablespoons of soft brown sugar.  The sultanas, meringue filling and the small amount of sugar were all that were needed to stop the apples being too tart without being too sweet either.

 

 

The results?  Friends and family were torn over what they liked the best. I preferred the apple filling.  This was such a great challenge and I will be making this again soon. 

2 thoughts on “Daring Bakers Yeasted Meringue Coffee Cake

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

