Almond Rochers

I hate having eggs go to waste.  I seem to hate wasting eggs more than any other ingredient.  If I have egg yolks left over then Violet will have scrambled egg for her dinner (I always add a whole egg as well to make it less firm) and she always loves them.  And egg whites always turn into meringues.  I haven’t met anyone who doesn’t like meringues. 

 

So, with three egg whites left over from making the lemon puddings last Sunday and so I planned to make tiny meringues to serve with the lemon pudding but then a recipe in the Tartine book caught my eye.  Almond Rochers.  Meringues with roasted almonds mixed in.  Yum. 

 

The recipe is simple. 

– three egg whites

– 1 1/2 cups of sugar

– pinch of salt

– a teaspoon of vanilla extract

– a cup of sliced almonds baked for 7 minutes and then crushed. 

The egg whites, sugar and salt were whisked over simmering water until they reached 120°

Then whisked off the heat until they are glossy and hold firm peaks

Almonds and vanilla extract were folded in

Little mounds of white goo. 

With a large icing nozzle I did pipe these onto parchment paper, but you can hardly tell and if you don’t want to bother messing around with a piping bag then a spoon would be fine.  I like that they weren’t perfect though. 

After baking in the oven for 20 minutes at 190° with the door slightly ajar they were ready. 

Soft and gooey in the middle they soon hardened.  The meringues are supposed to crack so don’t be worried when they crack.

 

And of course they were enjoyed by everyone at home and at work the next day.  I will certainly be making these again. 

3 thoughts on “Almond Rochers

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

