Old Fashioned Apple Pie

It seems like my pick for Martha Mondays came round so quickly this time and Brette caught me on the hop and had to chase me for my choice – sorry Brette!  Pie seemed like a good idea.  Especially as the new Pies & Tarts book has just come out.  I haven’t ordered a copy yet.  I’m not sure if I’m going to buy it as I am still in love with the 1985 Pies and Tarts book and I would hate to be disloyal.

 

Anyway, I chose Martha Stewart’s Old Fashioned Apple Pie.  It is very similar to the Spiderweb Pie in the 1985 book so I hopped between the two recipes and adjusted the amount of sugar to 1/3 cup granulated sugar and 1/3 soft brown sugar.  I used the recipe for the spices, so added more cinnamon than the Old Fashioned Apple Pie says. 

 

For the first time I made pastry in the food processor.  I won’t be doing it again.  Although it did save me time. (which was the point of using the food processor) the texture just wasn’t the same. 

The recipe was easy to make and had very few ingredients.  I used a mixture of cooking apples and Empire apples – the supermarket was out of Granny Smiths – and I had cooking apples on hand already. 

The verdict?  We like the pie.  The apples aren’t cooked down too much and aren’t too sweet and the taste of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves really help the flavour.  I did have to ‘drain’ the pie though as I had a lot of liquid which hadn’t thickened despite adding the flour. 

I hope anyone else who made it enjoyed it.  I can’t wait to see the results.  I’m off for another slice of pie!

7 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Apple Pie

  1. I had a lot of juice in mine too and I normally add a little flour in so that doesn’t happen, but Martha wasn’t recommending that! I confess I added a bit more sugar to mine and cooked it a bit longer since it didn’t seem done.

  2. Gorgeous! I’ve got my pie dough made. Now I just need to cut apples. My least favorite part. I probably won’t post until tomorrow but I can’t wait to eat it! Thanks for picking such a yummy classic.

  3. Your pie looks beautiful Pru, you did a great job. So you adjusted the recipe? ;D I added a little more cinnamon too, and almost added some brown sugar but refrained myself. Ha! Mine was juicy too and I didn’t care for the food processor dough as well either. The taste was good though, I’m glad I tried it. Good choice. I just posted mine.

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

