Martha Mondays – Grilled Cheese Sandwich

I have only had one grilled cheese sandwich and that was in Grand Central Station in New York. It had that yellow/orange cheese in it. It was okay. I was hungry.

In England we have cheese on toast (toast, buttered and then cheese on top and you put it under the grill/broiler until it bubbles) but very rarely do we use a frying pan/skillet for browning bread. This was a very strange experience for me. For starters I had to weigh up whether this recipe might kill me. Me having a fear of heart-attacks and all, and decided that I would chance it. The ingredients and portions scared me – a whole ball of cheese for one person(?)

Anyway, I proceeded. I substituted a little milk for cream as we didn’t have any (this might be where things went wrong).

Who knew that I could mess up a cheese sandwich dipped in an egg mixture and fried in butter and oil? Well, you all know now.

Yep. Failed. The bread browned, it smelled good but the cheese didn’t melt at all. In the end I served it. The cheese hadn’t melted and the bread had gone soggy and this was as bland as bland gets. Neither of us ate it. For so much cheese and eggs and oil I expected better.

I did feel rather virtuous afterwards and ate some fruit for my dinner. I can’t wait to see how everyone else got on. I’ll stick to good old cheese on toast.

~ Pru

3 thoughts on “Martha Mondays – Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  1. Not really a winner by any means for me either. That’s interesting that you don’t eat grilled cheese in the UK. Do you have French toast? That’s essentially what this bread was.

  2. Yours looks different than mine. My cheese did melt and that is why we liked it. Thanks for cooking with me even though it went against the grain.

  3. Yes, mine was kind of bland too, and the cheese did not melt. Plus I could not use my computer. Oh well, better luck next week!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

