Daring Bakers – Chocolate Marquise

After not taking part in the April Daring Bakers’ challenge I was keen to return with something wonderful. The May 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Emma of CookCraftGrow and Jenny of Purple House Dirt. They chose to challenge everyone to make a Chocolate Marquise. The inspiration for this recipe comes from a dessert they prepared at a restaurant in Seattle.

There were actually four components to this challenge (two being mandatory) and I decided only to make the two mandatory components which was the chocolate marquise and the torched meringue.

As many of you know, my dad doesn’t eat chocolate. I searched high and low for a non-chocolate version of this dessert (I thought strawberries might work well) but (a) I couldn’t find a recipe and (b) I’m not smart enough to adapt the recipe as much as it would need to be adapted. Chocolate it was. Dad just went hungry.

The recipe was set out to feed the five thousand and then some. Thank goodness that Audax halved and quartered the recipe otherwise I would have fed most of my road with this dessert! Audax is my knight in shining armour. I. Love. Audax.

I’m going to keep this short. This was a dessert was a bit of a pain – not many ingredients but it took an age to make and my washer-upper (my mum) wasn’t too pleased with the amount of bowls that I got through (maybe this was just me). And despite freezing the marquise for over four hours when I came to serve it, it just wasn’t hard enough. Frantically I cut out the marquise into circles using a cutter and plated them up and put them in the freezer for half an hour. It still didn’t work so I never got to roll them in cocoa.

~Chocolate Marquise, Torched Meringue and Raspberry Coulis~

The verdict? We enjoyed (and we really did enjoy it) a cold chocolate mousse with hints of cayenne, pepper and cinnamon. It was lovely. I could eat it straight out of the bowl or once it had been fridged/frozen. Delicious. Will I make it again? No. Too much hassle but the memory will stay with me for a long time. The meringue? Yuck. This was my first time using a blow torch and I practiced a couple of times first but this was just browned egg white which I ate a spoonful of and pushed to the side of my plate. A waste of egg whites in my opinion.

Check out the Daring Bakers website to see how other bakers did.

~ Pru

2 thoughts on “Daring Bakers – Chocolate Marquise

  1. I wanted to visit and allow you to know how , very much I loved discovering your web site today. I’d personally consider it a great honor to operate at my workplace and be able to use the tips discussed on your site and also engage in visitors’ responses like this. Should a position regarding guest writer become available at your end, please let me know.
    Welcome to my site : Joint pain relief

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

