Blackberry Almond Shortbread Squares

It was my pick for Martha Mondays this week and I thought I would consult with my parents as to what they fancied instead of me just picking something. ‘Anything with beans or berries’ was the answer. Yes, the Singer family is elbow deep in green beans, runner beans and blackberries along with cucumbers and beetroots and chard.

So, that is the story of how we came to make this dessert. It was easy to make and didn’t require four trillion ingredients and if you were really clever (like I am) you only needed one bowl. I used ground almonds and they worked fine instead of baking and then blitzing almonds. I never bake and then blitz anything that I can find already prepared.

The verdict? Everyone likes this. I have in fact made it twice now as the first batch was eaten before I could photograph it. This is extremely crumbly and the fruit maintains it texture. It’s a winner.

(Please note, that I haven’t actually eaten it as I don’t like berries (except strawberries) but everyone tells me that it is really good). I can’t wait to see what everyone else thought.

Like the idea of joining Martha Mondays? Click over to Brette’s blog for more details.

~ Pru

3 thoughts on “Blackberry Almond Shortbread Squares

  1. That’s interesting – I can’t find ground almonds here. I thought it interesting that the berries held their shape too – usually berries cook down to mush when you bake them. A very nice choice. Now if you could just add some beans to it, I think your family would be happiest!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

