Prioritising for Autumn

It’s been one of those weeks. Everything has annoyed me. Small things like the grocery store not having the shopping that I wanted and then big things like the weather stopping me from doing work in the garden and the fact that so much rain has ruined our tomato plants. Now it’s Sunday evening and I haven’t done half of what I had wanted to do, the baking I did was dreadful (no Martha Mondays from me – didn’t know I could burn jam did you?!) and all of it went in the bin. I’m even further behind now. None of it matters of course, its just one of those things when I have a list of things to do and can’t cross them all off and I wonder when I will find time for them all.

We made the trip to Norfolk on Saturday to see my grandfather. It’s six hours of travel for just under two hours spent with him. It’s going to be happening more often. Things aren’t great in that house despite carers going in daily and a cleaner twice a week and a nurse checking on him two times a week too. We wish he was closer. It’s hard to keep an eye on things when he is so far away. I spent most of the two hours cleaning his kitchen and sorting the groceries out. It’s little things that I keep thinking back to – like the half eaten ready meal of roast dinner. He has eaten half on Friday and would have the rest today. He only eats a small bit, but instead of putting the food in the fridge he keeps it in the larder. He must have a very tough stomach. The fact that the chiropodist still hasn’t visited and needs following up on as his toe nails are in a bad way. There’s going to be some juggling to be done.

The list of things to get done at the weekend will also involve a monthly visit to Norfolk. Trying to find the time is going to be my main goal. I need to get my priorities sorted.

The park was especially peaceful and quiet today (except when we were running for the tree above to escape Violet and another dog running around). We both have this thing were we aim to get to the nearest tree and cling to it as soon as Violet and another dog start running around. We have both been knocked over by a running dog and it is very, very painful! Autumn has arrived and the walk with mum and Violet was perfect to help put things into perspective.

 

~ Pru

3 thoughts on “Prioritising for Autumn

  1. I’m sorry your Martha Mondays project didn’t work! I am still working on mine – it’s just not baking in the oven. I’m almost an hour over the baking time!

    Fall is a good time to get organized and I’ve been trying to work on my own list. Lots to get done.

    It sounds like your grandfather needs more assistance. That’s a long drive though.

  2. Hello, Pru. I think you’re overwhelmed. It sounds as though your grandfather will need lots more care in the future. I know how stressful that can be. If only he were closer. My grandparents had a larder too. They kept it right next to the refrigerator. Well, take a deep breath and give Violet a hug. She is sure to help you relax. I hope everything works out for you…. And remember, Christmas is right around the corner. There will be lots more to do when it gets closer. So take a really deep breath!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

