If Life Gives You Lemons …

… it’s too cold for lemonade silly, make this cake instead!

I don’t think I have ever declared anything to be the best on my blog.  I think its a huge claim to make but I can say that this lemon cake recipe will be our go to recipe from now on.  There are many things in its favour:

1.  It’s a Dorie Greenspan recipe adapted by Ina Garten.

2.  It’s yoghurt and oil based instead of using butter.

3.  There’s a glaze AND icing.

See, it’s perfect in so many ways!  And this cake is seriously good.  It’s easy to make, requires a bowl and mixing jug, bakes within 50 minutes and is very, very tasty.  The link is here.

I tweeted about how fantastic this cake is and Dorie Greenspan replied to say that the cake is very adaptable.  She suggested instead of lemon using vanilla beans, lavender or Greek yoghurt and rosemary.  I’m going to have to make the rosemary version (with some flaked salt on top).

If you try this cake, please let me know what you thought of it.

 

~ Pru

4 thoughts on “If Life Gives You Lemons …

  1. I’ve made this cake several times and it’s always a favorite! The depth of lemon flavor is just intoxicating! It’s always a spring and summer taste treat in our house! I’m glad you liked it!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

