Letters to Gift

I started sponsoring a child in June of this year.  Her name is Gift and she lives in Malawi.  It feels sort of strange to write it down.  I haven’t spoken about it before.  Part of me feels slightly guilty at publishing it, almost like I am saying ‘look how wonderful I am’.  Its not my intention or my thought.  I did it because I can afford to do it and I wanted to do it.  And it does feel really good.

Every month £15 leaves my bank account and travels into the Action Aid fund to provide help to my sponsored child’s community.  It’s the cost of a week’s worth of Starbucks.

I wanted to publicise Action Aid and the work that they did and I also wanted to have a place to write down what I write to Gift my sponsored child.  When I first started I Googled ‘sponsored child writing letters’ and the results were pretty poor.  But one blog I found wrote on a monthly basis and she also wrote about school and things that her family were getting up to.

Sometimes, its hard to know what to write about.  If I were to write about going shopping or going to dinner or on holiday will it seem like I was gloating?  Also, will she be able to understand some of the things that we take for granted?  And how do I write a letter to a nine year old girl who has probably never heard of half the things that I talk to friends nine year old children about (Justin Beiber and the latest games are not going to cut it!)

So, each month when I send my letter, I’m going to post it here for you to read.  If you sponsor a child maybe you might get some ideas from it or have some ideas for me (please share).

This month I sent Gift a postcard.

I sent postcards of Buckingham Palace and the royal family the other month with a tiny bit of history on them which I thought she and her friends might enjoy.  Its easier to write a letter one month and then send a card or a postcard another month.

Do you sponsor a child?  Do you write often?  Have you thought about sponsoring a child?  I would love to know your thoughts on the subject.

~ Pru

More details on Action Aid can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Letters to Gift

    • Brette, I wrote and re-wrote this post so many times, it seems i forgot to include any details! Gift lives in Malawi, with her family and three siblings, she attends the local school and is nine years old! Argggh! Going to amend the post right now – thank you so much.

    • you're actually a excellent webmaster. The site loading speed is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. Fuerhtrmore, The contents are masterpiece. you've done a great activity on this matter!Also see my page:

  1. Pingback: Action Aid’s Bloggers Tea Party | Perfecting Pru

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

