Remembering It’s Not All About The 25th

Morning!  The last few weeks have been so hectic and this was due to crazy stuff happening at work and me not taking the action that was required to say ‘No’.  When will I ever learn?  I always think that if I decline to do something then I will get into trouble, but in all honesty, looking back, I think that everyone suffered by me saying ‘Okay then’.  At the end of this I ended up completely out of sorts, I was angry and upset, looked and felt a mess.  It wasn’t pretty.

And so I took to my self-help books for the answer.  As some of you know, I usually turn to Byron Katie, and the thought which I needed to work on was ‘I am being taken for a mug‘.  The answer which flashed up almost immediately was ‘You are letting yourself be taken for a mug’.  ‘You are the mug for allowing this.‘  Everything became more clear immediately.  Yes, it was true. I had allowed myself to take on too much at work and had lost the thread on pretty much everything – home life and work life were suffering.  I was the cause of my own suffering.

The weeks before Christmas are always so hectic and despite finishing my shopping (except for one last stubborn present), having the presents wrapped, cards written, and the house nearly decorated, I seemed to be thinking of nothing else than the 25th December.

Although I love Christmas and December, I actually don’t like Christmas Day itself, I’m more of a Christmas Eve girl where anything is possible still and I want the magic to still arrive.  So, when I saw this on Pinterest I knew that it was speaking to me.  The next couple of weeks are full of late night shopping events, dinners and lunches with friends and a couple of trips into town to see the lights.  I’m remembering that for me, Christmas is this whole time of year and not just on the 25th.

~ Pru

P.S.   I know I posted this a few weeks ago, but I didn’t remember and started amending it as though it was a draft.  Sorry if you read it the first time.

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

