Chicken with Artichokes & Spaghetti

 

Megan usually picks a great project for Martha Mondays and I was certain that while we don’t eat a lot of artichokes or capers in our house, that this would be a winner.  Its billed as ‘Chicken with Artichokes and Angel Hair Pasta‘ but the closest thing we have is spaghetti, so I changed that.  Apart from that, I made this recipe as it stated.  I even bought parsley.

This past week I haven’t felt that well.  It was a clear sign to me after returning to work for four days and then becoming sick that I was trying to accomplish too much at one time.  I was so pleased that this was a quick recipe which I made when mum returned from a trip to see my grandfather on Saturday night.

It was easy to make, with very few ingredients, although I did have to make a trip to the supermarket for capers, artichokes and parsley.  I wonder if the addition of onion would have helped or another ingredient instead of so much artichoke.  Also, the chicken didn’t have much flavour.  Maybe lemon would have helped.

The verdict?

Oh, we hated this (probably evident from my words above).  I ate two mouthfuls and decided that I didn’t want any more.  There was nothing about it that I liked.  Mum complained that there was no ‘sauce’ and she was right.  What sauce there was was sucked up by the pasta leaving a plain meal of spaghetti with chicken and artichokes.  I have decided that I don’t like capers either.

So we had cheese and crackers for dinner.  I’m pleased I tried the recipe as it was something new, but I won’t be making it again.  Such a shame.

I can’t wait to see what everyone else thought.

 

~ Pru

Are you following me on Twitter or Pinterest?  If not, then click on the links.  It would make my day, possibly my week too!

5 thoughts on “Chicken with Artichokes & Spaghetti

  1. That’s no fun! Sorry you disliked it so much. I found it to be bland and did not enjoy it but I didn’t hate it. I wouldn’t make it again. Oh well. We win some and we lose some with Martha!

  2. Pingback: Chicken with Artichoke Hearts

  3. So funny! I don’t mind capers but I didn’t like the artichokes. It’s kind of funny that we all agree we didn’t like it. Usually we have a little more variety in our results. I like your new blog design!

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

