Plum Coffee-Cake Muffins

Sunday Afternoon.  Magazines, coffee and lots of muffins.

My plans for Friday night changed on Friday morning and so I ended up with two options:  go home and eat pasta or go to Harrods and then to Whole Foods and then home to eat pasta.  I chose the latter.  I had one of those nights where I was in a rush.  Mainly so that I could go home and eat pasta.  A dash to the Laura Mercier counter (I love their mineral powder and tinted moisturer) and then a jump on a very packed bus to Kensington and then a more leisurely stroll around Whole Foods.  Whole Foods is not a shop to race around.  Time needs to be taken and produce chosen carefully.  Whole Foods is one of my go-to places when I need to calm down.

I wanted to find some good looking and tasty fruit and I know that it is not the right time of year for the greatest of produce but I had been so disappointed by what the local supermarkets had to offer.  Plums and pears were the best I found in Whole Foods.  Although the pears did need a couple of days in a brown bag to continue to ripen.

Its strange for me to pick things up and then decide what to bake based on what I have purchased.  Usually I go to the supermarket armed with a list.  But it worked out best to do it this way round and I will do this more in the future.

I chose to make Plum Coffee-Cake Muffins from Martha Stewart’s ‘Baking Handbook’.  For anyone who hasn’t made coffee-cake muffins before let me tell you that there is no coffee in them.  Not one granual.  Which the first time I made coffee-cake I found very, very strange.

These were so easy to make and taste so, so good.  The batter isn’t too sweet and the plums really stand out.  I omitted the nutmeg but this was by accident but I don’t think it mattered one bit.

I’m going to eat another one with a cup of tea and then one for breakfast tomorrow.  And then I may need to make another batch as these are wonderful.

Martha Stewart’s Plum Coffee-Cake Muffins

  • 125g OR 1 stick butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups all purpose/plain flour
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3 ripe plums, pitted and cut into small chunks
  1. Preheat oven to 375F or 190C.
  2. Melt butter and leave to cool. (I didn’t leave mine to cool that long but it didn’t seem to matter.
  3. Combine flour, cinnamon, baking powder and salt in a bowl.
  4. In a measuring jug or bowl combine milk, melted butter and eggs.
  5. Gently fold the milk mixture into the flour mixture until just combined.
  6. Place mixture into muffin cases until half full.  About 1 1/2 dessert spoonfuls.
  7. Scatter plum pieces on top and gently push down.  I put about six pieces in each case.
  8. Divide the rest of the cake mixture evenly over the top of the plums.  You don’t need to bother about it covering all of the plums.
  9. In a bowl combine 2tbs and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon together and sprinkle over the muffins.
  10. Cook for 16-18 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.
  11. Leave to cool.  They are great whilst still warm and when cold.

By the time this is posted, the cake stand will be empty! 

Looking for more plum recipes?  Try here and here.

 

~ Pru

Are you following me on Twitter or Pinterest?  If not, then click on the links.  It would make my day, possibly my week too!

2 thoughts on “Plum Coffee-Cake Muffins

  1. These sound great. Coffee cake is something you eat with coffee over here and everyone just sort of knows that! I never thought of it as odd before, but you’re right! It’s always so funny to learn things like this that are so different even though we speak the same language.

  2. These look divine! I love the Martha Stewart Collection Cake Dome & utensil holder in the background. I also LOVE that Wedgwood cup. I may have to make muffins this weekend, especially if it’s raining like it is today…
    Have a great weekend Pru!

    ~David

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

