Lemon and Extra Virgin Olive Oil Cake

With my new found ‘Love it/Make it‘ mantra, as soon as I saw this cake on Dorie Greenspan’s website I knew that I needed to make it.  Our house was full of lemons and I had some good extra virgin olive oil which I had received as a gift which would be perfect.  I was set.  Of course, when I arrived home it turned out that mum had made a cake.  A lemon cake.  I was mortified. Annoyed actually.  I hate it when a plan doesn’t come off.  But it was meant to be as mum’s cake hadn’t turned out that well.  Result!

This is a very good cake.  I don’t think its going to be great if you use a cheap olive oil (not that you would) but a fruity extra virgin olive oil will be very good.  And I have decided that loaf cakes are the best.  Now, the recipe didn’t call for any icing, but I wanted an extra hit of lemon (and it made good use of the juice from the lemons too).  I just mixed the lemon juice with icing sugar until I had a pouring consistency.

Here’s the recipe.  If you fancy trying something a little different (and have some spare olive oil) then I highly recommend this cake.

Have a great weekend!

~ Pru

2 thoughts on “Lemon and Extra Virgin Olive Oil Cake

  1. Pingback: Lemon and Extra Virgin Olive Oil Cake | Perfecting Pru | ClubEvoo

Comments make my world go round! Please feel free to share your thoughts.

